Vehicle with no drive

Hello UE4 community.

I’m trying to write a (more or less realistic) behaviour of an electric motor vehicle, which doesn’t have the gearbox and some other components provided by the default UE4 vehicle system. As far as I know, PhysX has many built-in vehicle types, such as PxVehicleNoDrive etc.

Is there a way to create such a vehicle without modifying the engine source code, only via subclassing (for example, VehicleMovementComponent or other classes)?

I’m a newbie to UE4 (but somewhat experienced in C++), so my question may be incorrect.

P.S. I’ve tried to use a gearbox with single forward gear, but this doesn’t seem realistic.

Thanks in advance

I am trying to do the exact same thing, did you find a solution?

From what I remember, one of the main differences between performance of electric and combustion engines is that electric engine can get from 0 to maximum torque instantly. Simply for a reason that output torque of electric engine depends solely on the “gas pedal” not on the RPM of axle as in combustion engines.
So the things I would try to do is setup just 3 gears [reverse, neutral, forward]. Modify engine torque curve to by just a straight line, starting and ending with the same maximum torque value. For the range of RPMs I would first go with something that starts from 0 and to incredibly high number, as I don’t know if vehiclecomponent will cap your torque to 0 at maximum RPM. In theory this setup should produce exactly the same torque at any RPM and torque output on wheels will be controlled solely by gas pedal.

EDIT: Your maximum RPM range can be calculated as this:
MaxWheelAngularVelocity = MaxVehicleVelocity / WheelRadius; //this will be Rad/Sec, MaxVehicleVelocity should be in m/sec and WheelRadius in meters, otherwise both should be in cm
MaxWheelRPM = MaxWheelAngularVelocity / 2 * PI * 60; // this is now rotation per minute