Vehicle with movable component: How to approach it?

Since this is my first post here, I don’t want to neglect giving a friendly ‘hello’. :slight_smile:

I am very new to the Unreal Engine and I am currently working on a small project for the sake of getting my feet wet and being prepared for future endeavours. The situation seems to be rather simple, I want to add a vehicle with an exchangeable, animated component. Therefore I have been digging in the API-documentation and trying to find a good, if not the optimal way to handle this. There seem to be several, so any hint would be highly appreciated. :slight_smile:

Right now I think that I might want to subclass USkeletalMeshComponent. My assumption is that by doing this I could animate the component itself, but I am not sure if I can animate the whole component as part of the vehicle, too.

As an example: Imagine a car with a mountable gun. Now the gun can be animated (due to subclassing USkeletalMeshComponent) and the vehicle can be animated. But how would I turn the gun itself around? Is that easily possible using USkeletalMeshComponent or should I pursue another path all together?

I would be happy about any constructive input. :slight_smile:

I just found this article: Modular Pawn

This suggests that the topic discussed in the first post should be realizable without an extreme amount of effort. However, the article seems outdated (the parameter passed to the constructor looks strange) and the last lines of code hint at a mistake. Also, there is no mention of how to animate the full pawn, including the different components. The article sadly is not much more than a little teaser, a promising one. Is anybody around who can give me hints on whether the animation of a multi-component pawn is possible and how to approach it?