Vehicle Tire Skid

Hi!

How can I detect whether one or more tires of a Wheeled Vehicle is skidding both at launch or hard brake? If it is easier I can implement as C++.

Thanks.

A simple way would be to take the velocity vector of the wheel, and check for longitudinal skid by comparing speed along that axis with the tangential speed of the rotating wheel, which is equal to the radius * rotational velocity (in rad/s).
Of course, you can also check for sideslip without having to consider the rotation of the wheel.
And you should have a threshold to account for float point precision and generally avoiding your tire to skid too easily.

Thanks for the answer. How can I get the rotational velocity of the wheel?

hi, also interesting thing for me, maybe some one can give example?

From what I found in the docs (I’m quite new to UE4 myself), it seems your object has to be a physics object - I guess that’s the case when you simulate physics. There is a Get Physics Angular Velocity node, which returns a vector in deg/s.
I didn’t find a similar node for general objects, and am not sure whether it works on animated objects (not physically simulated), but that could be done manually.
In your case, you could use that node on each wheel, convert to rad/s, and then to linear velocity (you will have to check for world vs local axes, as I don’t know what the node actually returns).

I’ll see if I can get a simple example running and keep you updated.

Alright, I got a simple example working, you can get the project files in the attached file to see how things are working.
As I said, you get the wheel’s linear and angular velocities, and compare the wheel’s spin (Z axis in my example), converted to linear velocity, to the wheel’s linear velocity along X and Y (root of the squared sum).
Throw in a few absolute values and a threshold value, and you’re good to go. The main trick here is to get the velocities in the wheel’s local space; I did this using the Unrotate node.