Vehicle Template - Free-look third person camera

I posted on another thread, but seemingly didn’t get a reply I think the question just got buried as it looked as if it was answered.

Original Thread: How can I make a free-look camera for a vehicle? - Cinematics & Media - Epic Developer Community Forums

I’m doing exactly the same thing, just want to get a free-camera, not too bothered If it returns back to the normal position after a while or not.

Thanks!

I’ve run into a few problems with setting up! I’m using the default vehicle gamemode, and I can’t seem to get my BP set up the way you’ve setup yours here; forza controls ? - Blueprint - Epic Developer Community Forums

is what mine looks like currently:

As you can see, with the Mesh I’m not able to get the three return values. I’m guessing I’ve missed something? I’m a complete novice to BP scripting, however a third person camera is something I’m in need of just to showcase the exterior of the vehicle I’m driving!

If you could provide any help in a dumbed down way of explaining it that would be appreciated. All I’m trying to achieve is a third person camera, I’m not too bothered about it returning to it’s original position.

Hey MarkyUK,

Sorry I didn’t notice your post unfortunately, but to get the expanded version of these nodes, simply right click on the purple-ish pin and select “Split Struct Pin”, an alternative is to use the Break Rot node you used in the bottom left of pic:

Also make sure to multiply the Pitch by -1 otherwise the camera will move in the wrong direction.

Last but not least, make sure you have the SpringArm setting “Use Control Rotation”, “Inherit Pitch/Yaw/Roll” all turned on, and the Camera “Use Control Rotation” turned off to get to work.

Let me know if you have any other questions, you’re almost there! :slight_smile:

Thanks for the help!