Vector HOW-TOs - Share what you know!

Hey guys,

I recently started playing around in Unreal and obviously been hit with the realization of having to do VECTOR MATH! Also Rotations They’re scary but fun!

Not everyone is good at math , let alone vectors, myself included. In the past couple weeks there has been a lot of googling, it sucks, and you don’t always find the right answers. So I thought it would be good to pool some HOW-TOs for Vectors and Rotations into a thread where newcomers could quickly figure out what a vector/rotation is and what they can do with them. Possibly we could even share some example uses for vectors and rotations. I will start off by sharing how to calculate how fast you are going, something I am sure many people may find useful.

HOW TO - Figure out your characters velocity in world space, local space and speed in Kilometres per hour(KM/H) (How fast are you moving)

Note. Instead of Event Begin Play and a Delay, you can just use Event Tick to a print string

1. World space velocity is your units per second in World(Map) X,Y,Z. If your character has a max walk speed of 1000 and you are walking along the World X-Axis, your vector would be (1000,0,0) or (-1000,0,0) if going the opposite direction. World Y would be (0,1000,0) and (0,-1000,0). Jumping, falling, walking up or down a hill is Z/-Z velocity (0,0,750).

2. This is your characters Units per second velocity rotated into back into Local Space X,Y,Z. When you’re in your character’s blueprint goto the viewport tab. At the bottom left corner you will see X,Y,Z and your character is most likely has an arrow facing forward along X, this is Local Space and important to understand. By using this velocity calculation, the direction your character is pointing and moving will be always be displayed along X, strafing will display along Y. Projectiles use local space too, the velocity of a standard projectile is assigned to the forward X-Axis. More on this later.