UStaticMeshComponent::SetMaterial() working in BeginPlay() but not in constructor?

Hey there. I have this program below:
Why is it so that UStaticMeshComponent::SetMaterial() is not working in the constructor but in the BeginPlay() ?
It is a blueprint where i set the static mesh and material, that derives from the c++ class below.
If anybody have some input on this one I would be really greatful. Im new to c++/ue4 in general btw.

//MyActor.cpp

#include "objtest.h"
#include "MyActor.h"

AMyActor::AMyActor() {
EdgeMeshComponent = CreateDefaultSubobject<UStaticMeshComponent>(TEXT("Root"));
//This does not work it seems
EdgeMeshComponent->SetMaterial(0, Material);
RootComponent = EdgeMeshComponent;
}

void AMyActor::BeginPlay()
{
	Super::BeginPlay();
//This works it seems
	EdgeMeshComponent->SetMaterial(0, Material);
}
void AMyActor::Tick( float DeltaTime )
{
	Super::Tick( DeltaTime );
}

//MyActor.h

#pragma once

#include "GameFramework/Actor.h"
#include "MyActor.generated.h"

UCLASS()
class OBJTEST_API AMyActor : public AActor
{
	GENERATED_BODY()
public:	
	AMyActor();
	virtual void BeginPlay() override;
	virtual void Tick( float DeltaSeconds ) override;

UPROPERTY(EditAnywhere, BlueprintReadWrite, Category = "C++")
		UStaticMeshComponent* EdgeMeshComponent;

UPROPERTY(EditAnywhere, BlueprintReadWrite, Category = "C++")
		UMaterialInterface* Material;

};

I am going to give my noob comment. Take it with lots of salt.

Constructor in c++ starts when you place the actor on to the level in editor. But if you need to place the actor on the level in editor then select to assign the material, constructor would not trigger again to assign the material. There are couple of ways you could try to get it to work.

1. Hardcode the material to be assigned in the constructor instead of uproperty.