Using Unreal Engine for video animation

Hello, I’m an independent animator starting a new project, and because of the expense of using a ray-tracing renderer, I have decided to use a game engine instead. It will just be outputted in a video codec, which means I don’t need any interactivity with the viewer.

So before I start committing a lot more time to learning Unreal Engine, I just have a few basic questions about what will be involved when using it for animation purposes:

1. So far I am under the impression that all the animation and modelling, except from the camera and terrain respectively, would need to be done in a third-party application. Am I correct in thinking that?

2. If the answer to the first question is ‘yes’, then:
    a. Can camera animation be imported?
    b. Can simulated smoke particles be imported, and if so, does it look good?
    c. Is it practically possible to animate a character in a third-party application if the environment only exists in Unreal Engine due memory limitations of the third-party application?

3. Would I be better doing all the animation, including physics simulation and set-building, in a third-party application and then importing it just for the purposes of rendering?

4. Can 3D sound occlusion, reverberation, etc. be simulated well, or would it be better to use a third-party application?

TL;DR
0. What is the best workflow for animating movies in Unreal Engine?

1: not particularly, modelling is usually not done in UE, yet can be done with great difficulty. the animation part can be done in UE4 if it is a skeletal mesh (which it usually is)
2: a. i dont think a camera animation can be imported.
b. they can be imported. but you can also use the infinity blade effects content pack which has a lot of particle systems included. see: Infinity Blade: Effects in Epic Content - UE Marketplace (its free)