Using just one mesh for an FPS character

Hi,
I’m planning to make a simple and small FPS-something. And from what I read, it’s a common practice to use separate meshes for the third and first person views. But is it ok to use just one mesh? I’m a beginner, and using just one mesh would simplify a lot of things, like shadows, legs that a player can see, and more. On the other hand, I don’t really know if it’s easier and maybe safer to use two separate meshes in the long term. I would be very grateful for help.

Personally i would go for single mesh as well.
For example am using a third person view and if am using a bow to aim, i wanna switch it to first person view, this will make my camera come closer to my char arm/chest.

The reason for using separate meshes i guess is performance, since at that close the texture need to be details and is only showing it arm+leg part while removing other parts.
But you could make it such as texture quality of some parts get reduced while arm texture is increased when you wanna switch to first person.
You could do your own ways and make some profiling on performance if it worth it.

Note not to be confuse with some old tuto on youtube where people separate the body part and leg part to make it dynamic. We now use blendspace to blend animation for 1 single mesh so no need to separate meshes.

1 Like

You can use a true first person

1 Like

It’s kind of amazing how the virtuos guys has never acrually learned anything XD
You picked the worse possible tutorial.

The reason you pick different or separated meshes are vast.

First and most importnatly TFPS needs AAA quality animations.
If you don’t have the animations do not patch stuff together thinking “It’ll be good enough”.
It won’t. You’ll literally make people and perhaps yourself puke during gameplay.

Second, interpeneration of the camera.
You are very likely to clip the character mesh and render the inside of it visible in some poses.