Using GameMode for "global"events

Hello!

I’m quite new to Unreal and I’ve been really excited about it so far. I have some very basic understanding about blueprints, c++ and games in general. My question is the following:

I was thinking about using GameMode to store some sort of event emitter that I can use to notify relevant entities in my level (not necessarily actors) that something happened.

A good example would be my quest system: I designed my quest objectives as simple UObjects as there’s no need for them to be actors, but I wanted each quest objective to subscribe to their topic of interest, for example an enemy killed or an item added to inventory. The flow would be:

• I create an event emitter in GameMode
  • Quest initializes
  • objetive subscribes to enemy killed event
  • Enemy dies → notify my event emitter
  • Quest objective updates

Would that be a good approach? Or would there be a more recommended place to emit that sort of events? One of the reasons I’m tempted to use GameMode is that I believe have access to it even from non-actor classes.

Hi.

It could be done, well, anything can be done anywhere, especially when the scope of your game is small. However it wouldn’t be the ideal place, here is why with some items:

1. Being able to access it anywhere doesn’t mean much and the act itself is dangerous on Blueprinting. You will get the game mode anywhere, you will cast it anywhere and the moment your game has Game Modes of different class, your objects will carry the references of your gamemode to other gamemodes and suddenly, you will have all your blueprints loaded all the time on all game modes. You can still access anything by holding a reference to one object.

2. GameMode’s intended use is to handle Player Spawning, rounds etc. However a quest system is relevant only for a player. Again, if your game would be single player, that could get a pass, but on a multiplayer game, you would have a mess in your hands.