User's progress deleted after app update on iOS

I’ve published my first app update since the game was released last Sunday. The new version doesn’t keep the old one’s data and it’s deleting my user’s progress. Is there an option to prevent this? I couldn’t find much info on the matter. This happens on both, iOS and Android. Thanks!