Use motion controllers on the Vive to drive animation blend spaces

Hello all, I’m totally new to the unreal engine however I’ve been using 3DS Max for quite a while and I’m a seasoned 3D CAD modeler. I’m trying to use the Unreal Engine for non-game related content so most of the tutorials I’ve watched do not directly apply to what I’m trying to do.

Here is what I want to do, I just need to know how I go about doing it.

This is a VR demonstration of one of our products and I’m using the HTC Vive.
I’ve started with the VR Template and I’m just using the default hands and teleport locomotion because it works exactly how I need it to. I am going to show our product running, just a simple shaft rotation with appropriate related components. Then I want to use the motion controllers to change from rotating going into an exploded view. If possible I want to use the triggers to variably control how fast or slow it explodes if the user lets off the trigger it will stop animating. The right trigger will increase the rate at which it explodes and the left trigger will drive the animation in reverse eventually ending up back to a running state. I’ve imported all the animation from 3DS Max and I really only have 2 states. Rotating or exploding.

What I think I need to do is setup something in the level blueprint to drive a variable from the motion controller trigger axis and then use the value of that variable to drive an animation blend space where at a value of 0 shows the shaft rotating and and at a value of 100 (to make the math easy) have it going into the full exploded animation. I’ve thought about a value of 50 having the pump slowly explode and past 50 it would get faster and faster. I’ve watched some blend space videos on character animation but there is a lot more going on in those and they are using character location information to drive what the character is doing where I just want the triggers to do that.