Upstairs

For questions relating to the current active challenge please use the tag UnrealChallenge
For submissions please include the tag BetterLightThanNever

Title:Upstirs

https://youtu.be/NbptcUl1WEo

Student Submission: Yes/No (Yes)

Credits to sourced content:

• Quixel Megascan

Optional

• Description
    Hello everyone! I am a sophomore majoring in accounting and German. It takes about a month to learn Unreal Engine 5 in my spare time. This is my first release in the Unreal community, and it’s certainly not perfect. The more I learned about Unreal Engine, the more I realized my ignorance. (There’s so much to learn)

The scene design is inspired by the mines and caves in Demon’s Souls, although it doesn’t look dark and scary enough.

To build this scene, the first step is to conceive and place the stairs. It is much easier to divide them into groups. I probably built 6 or 7 layers because the bottom-up shot would be blocked by the flat fog material I made.

The second is to build mountains and stones. This step is not difficult, use the movement, rotation and scaling of the object but pay attention to the collision between the Meshes. I also added some branches and stone pillars to support the stairs to make it less obtrusive.

The third step is to use the Blueprint to create a simple fog material that will mask some of the scene’s imperfections and holes, but more to render the atmosphere of the environment.