Updating Vectorworks model makes me lose all assigned Materals assigned in Twinmotion. Is there a way to prevent this?

Hello!

I am new to using Twinmotion and have loved using it as a rendering software in partnership with Vectorworks.

I have used the Datasmith direct link tool built in to VW to import my model to TM. I assigned the desired materials and effects to the model in TM but at a late stage, made some changes to my VW model. When I used the sychronize tool to update the model from VW to TM, I lost all of the assigned materials applied to my model.

When I imported the model I chose to 'Keep hierarchy' with 'Enable substitution' unchecked. The assigned materials & effects assigned in TM still were all over written to the original state of the imported model - Blank or untextured.

This is counterintuitive and leads to repeating work if the model is not 100% complete.

Are there any work arounds or suggestions that I am unaware of to preserve assigned materials in TM whilst still being able to update / work on the base model in VW?? My understanding of the direct link tool is that it is intended for this exact purpose, to be able to update the base VW model and have those changes implemented to TM in real time.

Any help is appreciated!

Daniel.

(VW version - Architect 2022)

(TM version - 2022.1.2)

Hello ,

Thank you for contacting us and reporting this issue. I am sorry to hear about this and recommend you contact Vectorworks to investigate this updating issue as they are the team involved in making the plugin work with Twinmotion.

I recommend you try to export the content from Vectorworks by using the udatasmith format instead of the Direct-Link as there are less chances of running into this problem. Each time you have an update to make, you will need to export another udatasmith file and update/refresh it in Twinmotion. Hope this helps.

Kind regards,

Vincent B.

Hi Vincent,