Download

Updating Programming Tutorial Source Code 4.7

Are there any updated tutorials for the latest engine version (4.7) or at least a location to find the source code so people that are still learning can see the update changes as a whole?

Because I’m currently trying to do the “Introduction to UE4 Programming - 3 - Creating the Base Pickup Class”. I’ve followed the tutorial and moved onto the next tutorial which was creating the battery and I ended up not being able to “add new code to project”, reasons compiler failed. I wen’t back and found out the tutorials were outdated so I updated my code with the updated changes however those changes just made more errors appear.

I have some programming experiences in other languages however C++ is new to me as well as programming in the Unreal Engine environment.

Rama started a thread on how to update your code to 4.7. Here it is: 4.7 C++ Transition Guide - C++ Gameplay Programming - Unreal Engine Forums

You can post your doubts there and get better help. :slight_smile:

Thank you Ryanjon2040 that linked to Rama’s thread was useful, there was one updated section it didn’t have but I found that in another area. For those who are stuck on “Introduction to UE4 Programming - 3 - Creating the Base Pickup Class” here is the source code for 4.7. Works for me so hopefully it works for you also.

PickUp.h

// Fill out your copyright notice in the Description page of Project Settings.

#pragma once

#include “GameFramework/Actor.h”
#include “PickUp.generated.h”

UCLASS()
class TUTORIAL_102_API APickUp : public AActor
{
GENERATED_BODY()

public:

APickUp(const FObjectInitializer& ObjectInitializer);
// Sets default values for this actor's properties
APickUp();

// True when the pickup is able to be picked up, false if something deactivates the pickup
UPROPERTY(EditAnywhere, BlueprintReadWrite, Category = PickUp)
bool bIsActive;

// Simple collision primitive to use as the root component