Unreal's engine programming documentation is poor compared to CryEngine's

CryEngine V was recently released with full source code so I decided to take a look at it. As a programmer I was especially interested in the code and I found out that their documentation for engine’s internal systems and APIs is quite good. Well, perhaps it is not perfect but such documentation for UE is almost non-existent! So far I am getting an impression that they generally care much more about the old-school programmer-centric workflow than Epic does. :frowning:

I would really like to see some improvements in this direction for the Unreal Engine and I am sure you guys can come up with something even better! :slight_smile:

Well Unreal Engine 4 got a good Wiki with good users articles.

And this Programming with C++ | Unreal Engine Documentation

But the Engine part looks like is more detailed in the Crytek docs

From my point of view it would be really nice to get some stuff about extending editor in C++:

• how to create your own file format and import it to the engine,
  • how to add new window displaying new format (aka Static Mesh Editor, Texture viewer etc) - this means creating new buttons, viewport, controls etc lots of stuff but would be helpful

Basically things to extend the editor. I know that you can learn from existing code but I’m not sure if I’m doing it right.

Well, the editor is built of Slate objects. See here:

https://docs.unrealengine.com/latest/INT/Programming/Slate/Overview/index.html

https://docs.unrealengine.com/latest/INT/Programming/Slate/index.html

I guess the file format thing would work like it does in c++. Im not sure what special requirements are needed within the UE4 context.
Maybe the one or other macro is needed…

Since they do not focus on visual scripting, makes sense (after so many years of poor documentation) that nowadays CryEngine has reasonable programming docs.
However for many years their docs were sht.