Unreal Water Tool Improvements

Hi! I am new to unreal and game design in general. I come from an architectural background and have decided to explore game design. So far learning unreal has been great and there are a lot of nifty built in tools and addons.

The water tool seems to be still in beta, and certainly needs some work fixing bugs and quirky issues, however I wanted to note some functional changes it could use

1. Ocean mask. Currently you can make a perfectly shaped little island and flat underwater with this tool, however, in many cases it seems height maps are used for terrains or a terrain may already exist that you created. What would be nice is if you could draw a shape and have the ocean volume generate where you draw it. It could then be edited similar to the island with little nodes, but would NOT affect landscape. A similar option should be done for lakes, but i think the custom water surface probably works for this.

2. River Mask, similar to the ocean there should be an option to create a water volume with a spline just like the regular river, but it doesn’t affect the landscape so you can use it to fill in rivers you sculpt.

3. flow directions - This would be helpfull to make sure waves are properly approaching land. it should be done visually maybe by placing a flow actor that will tell the ocean which directions get waves? This could also be usefull for river flow, but that only really has 2 directions where as an ocean may need to flow in multiple directions.

4. tooltips for some of the functions for the water. there are a few I would like to edit but am not sure which functions in the water material handle them. These include

• How to activate underwater?