Unreal unity

Hello so I am brand new to game no knowledge when it comes to programming and I would love to learn. Should I start with unreal or unity

In Unity you’ll be using Java or C#, in UE4 you can use either C++ or blueprints. Blueprints are pretty easy to pick up, so I’d start with UE4 if I were you. Plus, Java/C# are what I’d say are less important languages to learn in general.

I agree. They seem to have very similar interfaces (drag and drop art, etc…) but Blueprints are much easier imo than trying to learn to script for Unity.

One major point i want to throw in:

If you decide to go for UE4, don’t think that you don’t need to learn C++ ever!
Blueprints look very nice and friendly but they are C++ and they work the same way,
so you need to learn what objective programming is, how classes and objects work, what
casting and pointers are! (:

Don’t do the mistake on thinking that BPs don’t require programming skills, they are just
a wrapped version of code.

Java? Don’t you mean JavaScript?

It is Javascript, not java.
Also, in case of unity, it is not a real javascript, just some homebrew javascript-like language.
For any serious work in unity, you’ll be using C#.

I would like to notice that unreal has more features from box: visual-blueprint like-material editor, AI, network, a nice amount of up-to-date small game samples…
It can speed up your prototype development.
It is all available for unity too, but as additional plugins for $.
And in my opinion blueprint system is much more better than all other alternatives for unity.
Start with C++ or C#? Doesn’t really matter, if you understand how to program and how to build algorithms with C# you will understand how to use C++. If you know C++ it’s even easier to understand how C# organised.

Games of any kind can be build with the help of unity or unreal. (dont go for mmo pls)

I have no idea to be honest…

Both have advantages.