unreal noobie: day 1

i’m a bit confused.

i’ve written c/c++ for 10+ years on many different projects, so the language is not the issue. i’ve written simulators and real-time communication apps without an issue. i’ve even written simple games, which is why i’m looking at Unreal… to step up the quality of the rendering model.

but what i’m having an issue with is the overall flow. basically, where it all begins.

looking thru tutorials and docs online, they all seem to focus around the editor. i generally get the idea of dropping an object on the scene and letting it render… but where is ‘main()’? what controls where it starts? is it just the starting position and the user takes it from there?

as a c++ dev, i sort of expected something along the lines of:

int main()
{
  TheWorld        world.load_map( "my_land.map" ) ;
  ActorMap        actors = world.load_actors( "scene01.txt" ) ;
  Actor            *hero = world.load_actor( "my_hero.model" ) ;
  UserController  the_user ;

world.place( hero, Coord(10,10,10) ) ;

while (!world.do_things())
  {
    world.process_input( the_user.get_input() ) ;
    world.tick() ;
  }
  return 0 ;
}

from there i would be able to iterate to find or create various actors, attach AIs, and/or move it around the scene.

but i’m not seeing this.

if anyone would kindly toss some light on my confusion, it’d be most appreciated.

This is all handled as data, not as code. Just like you’re already wanting to load the actors as data, everything here is going to be loaded as data to keep iteration time small. Recompiling because the designer wanted to change what map you’re going to load first wouldn’t be very fun.

This is handled by putting things in the right place in the editor. Defining hardcoded positions for actors and level geometry would be incredibly tedious, and iteration time is key in video game development.