Unreal in Middle School Education???

I’m a middle school teacher and want to do game design.
First of all, do you think 7th/8th graders could use unreal or is it too high end?
If they could use it, what would be a good way to start?
Which tutorials may be simple enough to start with and have them learn from?

Thanks so much for any help with this. I’m new to unreal myself and would appreciate any help I can get.

If you are referring to the PC specs of the average 7th/8th grader (Or the average middle school that I have seen), I’m going to say that Unreal Engine is too high-end. If you are referring to the intelligence level of average 7th/8th graders, I think they could absolutely use/learn it if they wanted to.

To start, I would simply say start with the basics, getting to know the engine. From there, it really depends on where you would like the lessons to go, as there is plenty to be learned.

Unreal Engine is **great **for most levels (including middle school) given they have access to usable hardware and are supported with learning resources.

Be sure to check our Hardware and Software Specifications Page to ensure student machines are up to spec. Hardware and Software Specifications | Unreal Engine Documentation

If you are looking for a text book for use in-class, I recommend “Sams Teach Yourself Unreal Engine 4 Game Development in 24 Hours” by Aram Cookson, Clinton Crumpler, Tim Johnson. This is currently the only UE4 book reviewed by Epic and would make for a good in-class book.

Additionally, below is a list of both paid and non paid UE4 beginning level curriculum that could be helpful from a variety of sources. I have listed a series of links from Epic’s own website where we teach how to assemble games in UE4 from internally developed video series.

Also you will find links to a variety of paid courses that are well done and mostly beginning level material. Most of the paid courses are fairly affordable and quite in depth.