Unreal Engine on Macintosh Yosemite. [Macbook Pro]

Currently I dual boot Windows and Linux, using Windows for things like Unreal Engine and Unity, and Linux for well… everything else. However one of my phone applications has a really high demand for a iOS port, and I was already needing a laptop for working when I’m not home anyway. I’m curious as to how Unreal Engine will hold up on the 2015 Macbook Pro, or how the Mac version of UE4 is doing, considering all of the posts I’ve seen about it in the past was simply that it’s the most unstable piece of bad-performing software you can download for Mac game development. However most of these posts date back to Unreal Engine 4.5.0

I’m curious as to how the performance of Unreal Engine on Mac is doing now and if it’s worth getting a Macbook Pro instead of just a Macbook. Being able to work in Unreal during my free time when I’m away from my desk would be lovely, considering I’m a hobbyist game developer.

A new, community-hosted Unreal Engine Wiki - Announcements and Releases - Unreal Engine Forums - here’s the recommended hardware list.

Looks like that only the 15-inch MacBook Pro with 2.5GHz CPU can offer sort-of OK performance. The rest of them have intel GPUs - don’t even bother with them.

I ended up purchasing the MacBook Pro 13’ with the 2.7GHz i5 processor. It has 8GB of 1867MHz DDR3 RAM, and the Intel IRIS 6100 1.5GB video display.

For anyone that is curious, the blank unreal project loads like absolute aids. The scene is choppy and laggy, running the blank project as a standalone game averages about 16fps with horrible camera lag.

Not recommended for graphical development or gameplay testing.

Very dissapointed that a $1500 machine can’t even run a basic project with more than 20fps. This is what apple considers a “Pro” machine, now I remember why I hated them.

Unity3d and Maya have zero problems on that machine, good fps etc.