Unreal Engine in Architecture Business

Hello Everyone!

Thanks for coming, participate and read this thread.

I am Jose, an Architect from Venezuela/Mexico and an evangelist(self given tittle)of UE4/5 in Architecture industry. If you’re here you are either an architect or have some interest for architectural/Archviz business.

I created this topic because I want to create a small community to talk about uses of Unreal Engine in architectural business.

As an architect I’ve been working with still images (Archviz renders) for so many years. This practice has become very cheap in the international market with people offering their services for even 20 USD per Image and because of that I wanted to move forward and search for new services/opportunities using Unreal Engine.

So far in my experience independent architects still wants to use still images as a compliment for their services and don’t see a true cost/value between these and Interactive walkthroughs/architecture services. I’ve been thinking about moving to real estate but then I came with the idea of opening this small space so we can all share experiences, thoughts and ideas about this topic.

Everyone is welcome to participate and feel free to share. Let’s create a great community :slight_smile:

3 Likes

I do it for personal purposes, started with Blender and then Used Unreal when I got a better computer

Great you do it as a hobby or offer your job to Architect studios? :slight_smile:

No just as a hobby

I worked as an Architect for some time in Germany. I used Unreal Engine 2 once for a walkthrough of an old building in Potsdam. The client liked it. It was very basic but at that time no one had ever seen anything like that (around 2000 ?).

2004 I needed a break from Architecture and it happened that I started working in a game studio in Sydney. I ended up working 11 years in different studios in Australia.