Unreal Editor is not responsive

Hello, I’m new to Unreal Engine. I have a problem with the editor, most buttons and menus do nothing when I press them.

Here are the things I did lately, maybe you’ll see something strange and be able to help me out.

After 1½ months of reading/video tutorials about Unreal Engine and Blueprints I’ve decided to start my project. I started with something simple, a small map with terrain and foliage, then a main menu with UMG.
But then I noticed that the construction event is not triggered while in the editor, ie: widget should generate Text objects based on an array, but I don’t get live preview in the edito. In game it works.
So I found this tutorial: https://wiki.unrealengine.com/UMG_Previewing_custom_UserWidgets_in_realtime. Looks simple enough, but Unreal can’t add the files to the project …
I found that I need to generate the visual studio project files: right-click .uproject in Windows Explorer and select “Generate Visual Studio project files”.
I implemented the code as suggested, build, nothing compiles.
Then I found this other tutorial https://wiki.unrealengine.com/Extend_UserWidget_for_UMG_Widgets and followed part #5, 7, 8, and 9 (I think #9 goes in <ProjectName>.h). Everything compiled!!!
I’ve built all configs, just in case, but I think I only needed “Development Editor” for now.
I’m now ready to create magnificent things and become a billionaire! So I restart the engine version (4.12.5)…