Unreal Editor 4 doesn't get past 45%

Hi, i’m new to the Unreal Engine and Editor. However, when I tried using the Editor 4.18.0, the initialization stops at 45%. Using a Windows 10 computer. Any files I need to open, edit or delete to allow the editor to load?

At 45% unreal is compiling some key shaders, this takes a very long time (up to 30 minutes on my old laptop). If you wait it will load, it is a one time thing so in the future you wont have to wait so long

Ok, it did finish loading after a wait. But now it is just a black screen titled Unreal Project Browser. My graphics card is an Intel HD Graphics card. How can i resolve this?First time using btw, and it’s Windows 8.1, not 10.

Intel HD graphics are built into the CPU, they are ideal for small tasks so might be causing the issue here. Take a look at this page and ensure you meet the requirements for running the engine
https://docs.unrealengine.com/latest/INT/GettingStarted/RecommendedSpecifications/

Basically I waited hours on end to use this tool, and it won’t even work on my laptop? Could I simply update my Graphics card, or do I need to buy a new one?

Ok so here are my system specs: Intel Celeron Processor N2840. Intel HD Graphics. 4GB DDR3 L Memory. 500GB HDD. Basically an Aspire E 15 Start. 2.16GHZ. x64Bit Processor. Based on these specs, what is the latest version of Unreal i could run?

I hate to be the barer of bad news, but you’re going to struggle running any version of UE4 with that computer. However, for the low low price of about $500, you can build a much better computer capable of running UE4 well. Note I said well. Not great, and sometimes not good. If you can’t afford it, change the engine scalability settings to low.

Boson 4.0 - $400 Gaming PC Build (2017) - YouTube The PC build if you’re interested