Unreal and Oculus Rift Architectural Adventures from a complete noobie

Hello Everybody!

I would like to first introduce myself as a complete newbie in unreal4 & Oculus Rift territory, I have had a total of 4 days experience to date.… I am however, a 3d Visualiser. So I do have an extensive knowledge of 3Dmax, Vray & Photoshop amongst a zillion other related programs.

I run a small 3D department at an architect studio in the UK, and have decided to look into new and upcoming technology, as such, I want to explorer real time walkthroughs (Unreal) and the possibility of VR (Oculus Rift). So we have invested into a Dev Kit 2 for the OR and have subscribed to Unlreal’s engine.

I have set myself three projects to produce in Unreal, using previous projects the company I work for has produced in the past / currently producing, ranging from a small scale Female Toilet, to an internal medium scaled retail scheme to a large external master plan. This way I can fully gauge how useful this tech will be for our company, and how realistic it will be to produce such projects in the future, bearing in mind I am new and have no fully adapted assets.

My first project is the small scale Toilet, I have produced a visual of this in the past and have a pretty much complete model of it. So I have gone through the basics in Unreal to understand the simplest of tasks to import my FBX files, apply basic materials & Lighting. I have also managed to work out how to use the OR on the level however I will leave this as a separate task once the model is fully built / lit and textured in Unreal.

This is the visual of the smaller of the three projects I will start with, my aim is to get it to this level in terms of lighting & materials whilst keeping Frame rate above 60 (If poss).