Unity vs Unreal: UWP

Hi, sorry if i’m in the wrong area of the forum for this.

I’m currently a unity developer developing a game targeting Xbox Live Creators Program, which means developing for UWP rather than Xbox specifically.

I understand there is a Microsoft maintained fork of Unreal that supports this path, but it is not well supported. For that reason I use Unity engine. However, while it’s much better than no support, it’s not particularly well supported on Unity either.

Recently there has been some information about Microsoft’s upcoming GameCore, which is supposed to replace UWP and launch with the next Xbox in the next year or two. Microsoft has no clarification on whether games currently in development for UWP will have an upgrade path, or are dead in the water. Neither does Unity, which I suppose is not their fault, Microsoft hasn’t made any actual announcements yet.

For these reasons I’m looking for a way out, and It’s not too late in development for me to switch engines.

I just want to use whatever engine gives me the most flexibility and portability. Currently for the purposes of Xbox Creators Program, Unity wins by a mile or ten, but with no information about the future from either Microsoft or Unity, that development path seems like a dead end in light of the upcoming replacement.

So my question is, does the lack of support for UWP mean unreal won’t support Microsoft Gamecore, or is this something that could be on the table?
If it weren’t for the lack of UWP/Xbox support i would be using Unreal already.

It;s probably too early to be asking these questions, but I don’t want to develop for something that will be obsolete soon. I just don’t want to waste any more time on a platform that seems to be signalling it’s own death, and if Unreal can do any better than Unity in this regard I would quite happily switch

Gears of War 4 came out for UWP if I remember correctly, which gives me a bit of hope for using Unreal, Just seeking clarification