Unable to import CAD file

Hello all,

I request your help because i’m unable to import CAD files trough datasmith/import CAD. I tried on several computer and each time unreal (4.19.2) crash (i force it to stop with crtl alt supp after several minutes where it stay at 0%). I also tried several files, STEP, 3DM, solidworks without sucess. the best score i get is 60% in the import popup but it stay here more than an hour before i stop it.
I’m new to unreal, so i’m sure i miss something to get this function work. I checked if datasmith is activated. All my PC are in window 10 64bits.

I hope you can help me, i’m really looking for experimenting product design visualization with unreal.

Best regards,
Hugues

Ps: sorry for my english.

Hi there Hugues :slight_smile:

This is strange!
From what i understand you have downloaded and installed Datasmith already.

If you have installed Unreal for the first time and your Unreal Studio Subscription is active.
You should be good to go.

Since its not the case,
You may want to double check in your launcher.
Make sure your Unreal Studio subscription is set to Active.

Also check in case the plugin needs to be updated:

If everything else fails…

You could always try removing the plugin (in case it did not install correctly)

[ATTACH=JSON]{“data-align”:“none”,“data-size”:“small”,“data-tempid”:“temp_140095_1528917623693_149”}[/ATTACH]
https://forums.unrealengine.com/core/image/gif;base64

Install to engine again.
[ATTACH=JSON]{“data-align”:“none”,“data-size”:“small”,“data-tempid”:“temp_140096_1528917637644_252”}[/ATTACH]
https://forums.unrealengine.com/core/image/gif;base64

If that did not fix your problem, we will need to investigate more.
Let me know

cheers

MC

Hi!

Thanks for your reply, i’ve checked all points you ask and it don’t work better. I cannot update datasmith but there is a yellow triangle in the plugin page. It’s the 0.182 version, can it be the cause ?