UMG widget button adds item to inventory

Hey, I’ve created an inventory system so that the player can pick up an object by pressing the ‘E’ key, and this creates a line trace etc and adds it to the inventory. I’ve also created a loot container (a filing cabinet) that when the player finds the key, it opens and a UMG appears on screen and this enables the mouse cursor so the player can click the buttons (see pics attached for info) What I want though is so when the player clicks the UMG button that has an item (a thumbnail) attached it adds it to the inventory (see in pics) and removes it from the filing cabinet. I can’t do this the same way as the models (actors) as it doesn’t involve a line trace by channel and I’m still pretty new to UE4. Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

ue4forumshelp9.PNG
(The inventory system)

ue4forumshelp18.PNG
(The filing cabinet system)

Can you show the blueprint where you are adding those buttons? Are they separate widgets that are added as child widgets?

This is the widget blueprint for the filing cabinet, they are all just buttons on top of a border each. The event graph is currently empty for the widget blueprint

It’s not much information to go on heh, but I just saw your other thread there too. And I see you have an array of cabinet items in your cabinet blueprint.
in the event graph of your W_CabinentInventory widget, make a new variable, and make it a type reference of BP_FilingCabinet drawer. Make this variable editable, and check Expose On Spawn, call it CabinetRef, or something.

Create OnClicked events for each of the buttons.

Back in BP_FilingCabinet, make a new function, and call it AddItem (or something sensible, this function will add the item to the player’s inventory.
Give it an Integer input, call it Button.

Like this: