UMG UI Designer Quick Start Guide needs update

I’m new to Unreal Engine and I just started trying to learn how to use UMG UI Designer. So far the learning process has not been smooth. I started with UMG UI Designer Quick Start Guide and got stuck at the very first section 1. Required Project Setup (https://docs.unrealengine.com/latest…t/1/index.html). Step 11 of this page says “Drag off the Event Begin play then add a Create Widget node with Class set to your HUD Widget Blueprint.” But Event Begin play already exists in FirstPersonCharacter’s Event Graph connecting to whole bunch of nods. It doesn’t allow me to add a second Event Begin play, and I have no idea what to do. Then I tried going to HUD Widget Blueprint and see if I can add Event Begin play there. But Event Begin play is not available in HUD Widget Blueprint! I googled and found this: https://answers.unrealengine.com/que…ent-graph.html Apparently I should use Event Construct. I don’t know if this was changed with version updates (I’m on 4.18.0), but whenever you make new changes, please also update your documentation.

The screenshots in Step 6, 7, & 8 are also confusing. Here’s the Step 6 screenshot:
UMGQS4.jpg

It’s not what I see in 4.18.0. I get either Single Variable
SingleVariable.jpg
or Array
Array.jpg
Not both!

Step 6, 7, & 8 don’t explain what this “container” thing is. As a newbie with no programming knowledge, this is just very confusing.

I hope you can somehow solidify your learning resources to help newbies like me. Thank you in advance!

I don’t think this is an issue. Containers are not really relevant for UI, unless you create Widgets dynamically in an Array.
The first page isn’t about UMG at all, it’s just how to setup your Blueprints first (And imo it’s okay to show an outdated version here, since the UMG Doc is still relevant and not outdated only the Variable/Container stuff is outdated, which is not relevant to the UMG steps).