UI Help Needed - Trying to make a codex

(Hello! This is my first time posting in the forums so I apologize if this isn’t in the right spot.)

I’m working on a 2D sidescroller-type game as part of a project for school, using Unreal Engine 4, and I’m currently working on implementing our UI. I’m more of a designer/writer, so a lot of this doesn’t come super naturally to me but my team is small and we’re all wearing multiple hats. Right now, I have a pause menu, and I’ve found tutorials for a main menu as well. However, the thing I need the most advice on, that I don’t really know how to implement, is a codex system (in the style of, say, Dragon Age or Bioshock, where you find notes in the environment and those things are then logged in a menu somewhere that you can access any time, generally used for backstory or flavortext).

The functionality that I would like it to have is:

1. Access to a list of entries from the Pause Menu. (ex: Pause Menu —> Codex —> Entry 001/002/003 etc)
  2. Entries that are somehow inaccessible until you encounter that note in the environment, but then become active and can be accessed any time.
  3. When you encounter a new entry for the first time and activate it, that entry pops up and can be read and closed without going through the pause menu.

Scenario 1:
Player comes across an interactable object (Codex Entry 001) in the environment. The player uses the ‘interact’ input option (in this case, ‘E’), and there is a popup with

Scenario 2:
The player wants to re-read a previously discovered Codex Entry, so they go to the Pause Menu, then click on the Codex button. It then takes them to a list of discovered entries, where they can select the specific entry they are looking for. (I feel like the undiscovered ones would be grayed-out/present but inactive, or simply wouldn’t be part of the list yet, whichever is easier.)

What I have so far: