UE5 | MBP M1: UE_LOG is not printed

Following the book - Unreal Engine C++ the Ultimate Developer’s Handbook, and trying to print message in Tick function, but it never get printed.

And I try to switch the game mode in settings, no help. Struggle with this problem 1 hour still no clue what is wrong.

PrimaryActorTick.bCanEverTick = true;

Is a declaration to the engine that the Actor “SHOULD” have a tick function that if tick is enabled can be called, but that is not what triggers the Tick() to be called.
try adding

PrimaryActorTick.bStartWithTickEnabled = true;

and see if that works

if you go into the details window (for C++ defined actors this can be hidden in instances so check the blueprint) of the Actor and search for “Tick” one of the options is Start with Tick Enabled see if that is true.

Thanks for reply my op.

I add this line PrimaryActorTick.bCanEverTick = true; but it doesn’t solve the problem, still no UE_LOG printed in Tick function.

And I’m pretty new to UE, I guess you want me to check this Async Physics Tick Enabled in FirstActor details tab. And I check it, still without luck.

Also I add breakpoints in Tick function and BeginPlay function, when I press Play Game in UE, it doesn’t trigger those breakpoints in Xcode.

it should be in a section labeled “Actor Tick” if you don’t see that section then it is not visible there.
open the blueprint for the actor. in the content drawer there should be a blueprint for it. it will have a blue line by default
the directions your following should have something to the effect of

• navigate to the “C++ classes” folder in the Content browser, and find the FirstActor
  • right click then select “Create Blueprint class Based on FirstActor”
  • in the menu that comes up give it a name, and select a folder to put it into
  • go to that folder in the Content Browser, and drag it into your level