Download

UE4 + Wwise: Change UPROPERTY to accept Wwise Event calls?

Hi

I’m a sound designer and have only recently started to delve into game audio and UE4.

Currently, I’m working with the UE4 ShooterGame example (UE4.12.5) and implementing the sound using the Wwise integration (2015.1.9 build 5624).
So far I’ve been able to implement everything using mostly Blueprints but since the weapon sounds are hard-coded, I’m struggling to make the parameters exposed in the editor accept Wwise Event calls.
For example, in the WeapGun Blueprint Class, I’m only able to replace the sounds with other SoundCues.
I’ve traced this to be declared in the ShooterWeapon header file:

/** single fire sound (bLoopedFireSound not set) */

UPROPERTY(EditDefaultsOnly, Category=Sound)

USoundCue* FireSound;

I’ve tried changing the type of the FireSound pointer to ‘AkAudioEvent’, 'UAkAudioEven’t etc. as well as including the AkAudioEvent header (located in Engine/Plugins…). The compiler can’t find the AkAudioEvent header and also complains about the pointer type being unrecognized (which I assume is because of the missing header).

If I include the full path, it searches for AkAudioEvent.generated.h instead which gives me a bunch of new errors and so on.

I’ve also tried reading up on and trying out some things with UCLASSES as well as adding dependencies in the build.cs file with no success.

Am I going about this all wrong?

I would really appreciate if someone could point me in the right direction.

Thanks!

Hey ejsalling, you might want to tap the AK forums as well, but the function you want to replace is called PlayWeaponSound. So basically, everywhere it calls for PlayWeaponSound, you’ll want to play your replacement event call, passing in whatever relevant GameSync data is appropriate.