UE4 won't install on Mac due to insufficient disk space, but there's plenty

I’m trying to install UE 4.27 on my M1 MacBook. I installed the Epic Games Launcher and clicked the Install button for UE 4.27.0. There was about a 10-second pause. Then I got an error saying the install failed, because I only have 15 GB of disk space available, but that’s not true. I have 167 GB available, according to Finder, which you can see at the top of this screenshot:

346933-screen-shot-2021-08-21-at-112108-pm.png

I only have one disk and one partition, and I am an administrator. This is the first time I’ve installed the Epic Games Launcher on this machine. I tried rebooting, but that didn’t help. Why is the launcher so confused?

I’ve been working with Unreal for months on my Windows PC without any problems. I’m surprised it won’t even install on my Mac.

I have exactly the same problem. I had 4.26 installed and tried to install 4.27. It did fail to install as it did actually run out of disk space. I’ve since recovered the space as. I had some large files I’d forgotten to delete so there is around 350GB of space available. My system has a single 1TB SSD and MacOS Catalina.

It is annoying not being able to get it installed. I’ve even deleted the previous version and tried various folder locations but with little effect.

OK - After having the issue yesterday and being unable to install Unreal Engine 4.27 after trying numerous times, I literally had the Epic Games Launcher still open from the previous day and clicked the ‘Install’ button on the 4.27 icon and it installed first time.

Nothing has changed since yesterday. Maybe something within the Epic Games Launcher or MacOS itself has refreshed the available disk space so at least Epic Games Launcher now knows the correct value - who knows. Either way, it has now installed without issue so if anyone does come across this insufficient disk space issue, ensure you have enough space and try again the next day - it might work.