UE4 very laggy, why?

Ok, I am new to Unreal Engine but I will try to cover everything I know…
UE4 lags a quite a bit while being played. In the selected viewport it seems to run fine without any hitches (other than the fact my computer is ****) however if I choose to use a standalone game or new editor window, it lags but not the same sort of lack of fps that you would expect. Rather it acts jerky like it is having trouble updating the window, I have tried toggling some of the smooth fps settings but nothing seems to work. I would really love to use Unreal as my default engine because it blows Unity3d out of the water in terms of options and features (don’t forget the source code). My fear is that my computer just can’t handle UE4 and I wonder if I publish a game using the engine people like me won’t be able to use my game (people like me would be by target audience) I hope for the best and some help from you experts on how it works!

Computer Specs:

Mac mini (Late 2014)
CPU: 2.6 GHz Intel Core i5
Memory: 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
GPU: Intel Iris 1536 MB
VRAM: 1536 MB (basically the stuff above this)
Display: 1280 x 1024 @ 60 Hz

Most likely it’s due to your computer, like you said, it’s not very powerful

Ya, I would definitely recommend building a new computer, I can help you choose parts if you like. :slight_smile:

Change the quality settings so that you can run the game smoothly -> You can use those console commands: .unrealengine/latest/INT/Engine/Performance/Scalability/ScalabilityReference/index.html :slight_smile:

Or, perhaps instead of telling him to buy a computer (it’s medium end, not too bad and not too good), maybe the devs should actually bother to optimize their engine?

Honestly. It’s 2016, and we’re still having optimization problems.

2 Likes

I think all you need is a new GPU, really. Those other parts are solid.