UE4 Strengths w/ Maya 2014 Vs Blender 2.70a

Hello… From the start I want to make it clear that I do not intend for this to be another “which program is better” post. What I’m hoping to hear in this topic is the specific strengths each program has when working with UE4. Because I’m an amateur artist (I only know the basics I had to get by in the past, mostly working with pre-made models) but now have my hands on a copy of Maya 2014, and obviously Blender is free so I have that too. I’m currently preparing to study and take notes developing a pipeline in to UE4, so I’m hoping to mix the strengths of each program together as optimally as possible.

Obviously UE4 has the ART tools, I’m guessing that will make Maya superior to Blender for rigging/animation?

From what I hear, Blender has a better modeler package. I also seen some people saying the Blender material system is more similar to UE4’s material system… Is this true?

Aside from that, I’m not too familiar with the specific differences of each program. So I would appreciate it if anyone could share what they feel is the best strengths of each of the programs when working with UE4, so I know the specific features of each program I need to spend the most time on. I’m hoping to have answers for every step of the pipeline of making a model to animating it and bringing it in to UE4, so any UE-friendly advice is welcome!

(PS - The one art program I have the most experience with, and actually love to use, is ZBrush. But that seems to be more focused on organic modeling and texturing, just mentioning that in case it could help anyone give me some better feedback)

Thanks!

I have both installed and kind of know how to use them, i’m not an expert though.