UE4 starter needs HELP

Hi guys
I’ve been trying to learn how to work with UE4 because I’m an architecture student , and I saw awesome works from you guys and I have some questions that I would really appreciate if you answer.
The space of UE4 is kind of game-ish, how come you have strong realistic renders?
And another thing is that I don’t have any architectural component or even there is no option like “wall” or “window”, so how do you make your renders ?
And one last question which is stupid to ask but I have to because I don’t know, is UE4arch some kind of plugin for UE4? I mean is UE4 for making games and UE4arch for architectural visualizations?

Please please please help me out
Thank you

1. you have to learn how to create realistic lightning and materials
  2. you have to learn how to use a 3d tool
  3. no it’s not a plugin, people just call it like that :slight_smile:

First thing which is important for you is to learn some 3D tool like 3Ds or Maya if you are planning to go pro (there are free educational versions, thought I am not quite sure). If not, try Blender which is free.
There will you then learn the basic terminology and how to model 3D object, UV unwrapping, Texturing, Lighting, and rendering.
Most important things I think you should focus when you learn is:
3D modelling - Without knowledge on how to make and detail 3D objects you wont get very good results.
UV Unwrapping - This is important for lightmaps creation. You will have a lot visual problems in UE4 if you dont know how to unwrap correctly the 3D objects you have made.
Textures > PBR (physical based rendering) - Textures is one of the things that bring the realism in his fullest form and you will then know what is diffuse (PBR - albedo), normal maps, roughness, ao etc.
And lastly when you have enough knowledge about the things I described above, then is time for you to learn UE4 and the techniques for realism. :slight_smile:

Thank you guys for your tips. Seems like a long journey lol