UE4 or Unity?

First time here. I have been using Unity for a few years because I thought that Unity is easier to use than UDK/Unreal Engine or CryEngine. How does UE4 handle 3D models with more than 65536 vertices? UDK can’t import 3D models with more than 65536 vertices. Unity can import 3D models with more than 65536 vertices by breaking them into two or more parts.

UE4 can as far as I know.

From what I have seen in a couple of posts here and on the UDK forum about poly limits there is basically no set limit besides the hardware limits. I could be wrong but from my understanding it doesn’t have the same issue that UE3/UDK did with models being over 65K

The vert limit has been bumped significantly, though I can’t remember the exact figure.

In all honesty though if you’re peaking those limits, it might be worth re-addressing your art style :wink:

Well,
To be honest, use the one you like “I’m serious”.

Meshes support 32 bit signed indices so you can have 2,147,483,647 (approx 2 billion ) vertices per mesh. Depending on your specs this many vertices will likely cause a performance problem but we do not limit how much you can realistically have.

having some issues importing models. but i guess ill get the hang of it eventually :-p UE4 is far superior to Unity graphics wise :-p

Please post bug reports in the AnswerHub or here in the forums with what you are having trouble with and how to reproduce your issues and we can investigate them and provide more help.

I would definitely say UE4, there was some competition before with UDK and Unity before, but honestly right now in my opinions UE4 blew Unity out of the park, with all the new features, source code, blueprint, market access etc.