UE4 4.9 Leap motion support

Hello everyone,
First post, new to Unreal engine and the forum. I am new to real-time, but have extensive knowledge of precalculated 3d.

Right now, I am building a simple scene where I want my leap motion hands to follow the character. However, whenever I tick “attach to character” in the leap motion hand properties (or something along those lines I don’t have Unreal open right here, will need to check tonight), the hands are:

• only visible if I scale them a bit
  • moving away from the character as I move it.

It looks like they have a double transform rather than just link to the parent. (I.e: when I move the character by 1m, they move by 2m )

I have not yet tried to re-install 4.7 and install the leap motion plugin separately, but I could not make it work in 4.9

Has anyone experienced a similar issue?

Thanks,

Mat

I would try it in the latest version of 4.8 rather than the 4.9 preview

Hello,
Thanks for the reply Darthviper, I tried with 4.8 and the hand to player attachement worked, but the hand tracking was fuzzy (known issue on 4.8). I have downloaded 4.7 overnight, and will try with 4.7 + the getnamo plugin.

UE3’s SDK is referred to as UDK and as far as I’m aware UE4 is just referred to as UE4 not UDK. Fyi

Oops, my bad. Can’t change the thread title unfortunately.

I’m getting the same issue in the latest (non-preview) version of 4.9. In 4.8 the Leap Motion controller worked by adding it as a component to my player’s mesh, although it was jittery, the hands at least stayed with the player, and with some code it would follow the HMD quite well.

But now in 4.9 the LM consistently does the same double transform thing as you said, so that as I move away from a certain point, the hands move twice as far in that direction. The hands do follow the cameras rotation, but on my maps they are like tiny blips off in the distance.