[UE 5.4 Preview 1] Mover 2.0 and GAS

Hi,

I’m relatively new to UE in general, but the announcement of 5.4 and the preview release made me want to try out the Mover 2.0 plugin.

Transferring my old pretty barebones third person character to the new mover component was relatively straightforward (talking about moving/jumping).

However I’m now at the point where I want to convert my abilities. I noticed that the PlayMontageAndWait gameplay task is not replicated anymore, as well as being able to move during the montage.

Looking a bit into the Dashing Manny from the MoverExamples I noticed there is a new PlayMontage (Mover Actor) BP Node. This however called from the GA will not trigger replication. AFAICT with the new mover component we should be reimplementing the FMoverDataStructBase and adding these to the CmdContext in order to replicate inputs, which from my understanding would limit the usage/ux from the GAS? I might be definitely missing something as I’m only 2 weeks into UE in general.

2 Likes

Okay so calling Play Montage (Mover Actor) and calling a multicast event on the proxies seems to work fine.

However I noticed when I call Play Montage (Mover Actor) from a GAS ability I’m getting a desync between server and clients position. Calling Play Montage (Mover Actor) from my player pawn works great, without desync, using a custom inputs struct I added (similiar to the dashing example pawn).

I think a lot of what’s going on is going over my head, but I assume i’m getting a desync using GAS is because of some client<->server syncing that doesn’t play nicely with mover 2.0?

I’m pretty novice with everything, would be cool if someone has a pointer/workaround on how I could create a root motion GAS ability.

My next approach would be to trigger an input(in my custom FMoverDataStructBase) in my GAS ability, queueing that on my player pawn and sending a gameplay event on finish.