UE 5.3 -- Assertion failed: Index == TypeIndex

I was working on a project all night (UE 5.3) with no issues, and after closing it and trying to get back on the next day, the project crashes immediately on startup.

The most recent things I was doing within the project (context - a topdown roguelike game) was creating save & load player profile functions, and allowing the users to input player names and such. All with blueprints, I don’t touch visual studio or work in C++.

Now when I try to start the project, it crashes with the following report:

Assertion failed: Index == TypeIndex [File:D:\build++UE5\Sync\Engine\Source\Runtime\Core\Public\Misc\TVariant.h] [Line: 118]

Now I’ve went to the TVariant.h file, to the line 118 that it was referencing, where the code reads:

check(Index == TypeIndex);

I have little to zero knowledge on coding and have for the most part just been following tutorials on blueprinting. From my understanding, this line of code is used to verify that the Index and TypeIndex variables are equal. If they are not equal, the check function will trigger an assertion failure. I can’t open my project to look around my blueprints to see where possible issues may lie, and I’m not well versed enough to troubleshoot or even know where else to look in Visual Studio. I’ve tried Debugging within it and adding breakpoints, but it says no issues found.

I don’t want to lose all this progress, and just start a new one so figuring out how to fix this would be great.

4 Likes

I have the exact same problem. Just going to bump this and hope we find a solution because this is a project I have to turn in for Uni on Sunday :,)