Typing Input

Hi all,

I’m working on a multiplayer game where typing is a core part of the gameplay.

So I read into the action binding system and came away with the feeling that to match the current pattern, I’d need to create a FInputActionKeyMapping for each character that could be typed - i.e. typed_A with ‘a’ and shift enabled for it, etc for all the characters which could be typed. This seemed kinda horrible and dirty, though as I dug further I came back around to thinking it may be the best way.

The other alternative I looked into was subclassing PlayerInput, adding a new event type which contained the typed character, and overriding relevant functions (at least ProcessInputStack and InputKey). Though neither of those are virtual, so it’d mean recompiling the engine from source, which seemed overkill for this.

So, to get to my question, what is the right (no, really, I’m a programmer, so I clearly don’t really mean right, let’s say answer that the highest percentage of programmers will begrudgingly acquiese to) way of doing it?

Is it the first, second, or some other idea my lack of familiarity with UE4 didn’t lead me to?

Cheers,

Alan

Another question I have, though I should probably just test it, but hey, better to know if it’s by design rather than by conincidence - are action names case sensitive? i.e. is “typed_a” != “typed_A”?

For anyone curious, at this stage I’m going with the a whole mess of action mappings (though I am wondering if the system was to designed to be performant with 100ish action mappings).