Trying to make a ball that speeds up after each bounce AND doesn't get stuck between parallel walls.

I’ll warn you that I’m a relative novice to Blueprint and programming in general so please bear with me if the solution is something obvious, because I’ve done a lot of research and tried every solution that seems to apply to what I’m doing and I’m stumped.

I’m working on a Dodge Ball-inspired arena game and I’m trying to make a ball that will move faster every time it bounces off a wall. Once the player throws it, The ball isn’t affected by gravity, so it’ll only ever need to hit the walls and not the floor. I’ve tried a few different methods for this, and each one has its own issues that I’m not quite sure how to overcome.

The simplest method that got the best initial results was using projectile movement and setting the bounciness to a value higher than 1, but since the game takes place on a rectangular stage, the ball will inevitably get stuck bouncing between two parallel walls. From there, the only thing that affects the ball’s movement at all is altering the projectile movement velocity but that always seems to make the ball come to a complete stop or move perpendicular, which then starts the same problem over, just from a different direction.

I’ve also tried using a physics object and doing the speed up/redirection via impulse. This has had extremely mixed results. Sometimes it seems to be working, but other times it doesn’t speed up on impact at all, and when it does speed up, it will often vanish once it hits a certain speed. I’m not quite sure what it is, but I know it’s much lower than the max speed I had set in the projectile movement version.

I’m assuming in each case that I have a poor grasp on how to alter an object’s velocity in the way that I want, so that might be the best starting point.

hi man, i would suggest you to blueprint it yourself
create an actor with a sphere and move the actor with 2 variables speed and direction.