Trying to import a skeletal mesh, results in invalid bind pose error

So I’m very new to animation and hardly have a clue of what I’m doing. I just imported my skeletal mesh and I get an error saying that “FBX bind pose 'BIND_POSES” is invalid. It will be ignored".
When I later try to attach an animation to this skeleton It gets cut up into tiny pieces and doesn’t look right. I’ve exported the mesh from 3DS.

I’ve been trying to find help with this but I can’t really find any useful information.

Would love to get some help. Thanks in advance!
-Tom

Well as far as I know a bind pose error is one of those picky fussy error messages. I believe it’s you skin your model to the rig, move one of the bones of the rig and your mesh no longer matches the pose from the original bind.

The worst that I would expect to happen is in app X if for some reason you turn off or remove the skinning solution the model will pop back into it’s default pose prior to binding.

As for the outer stuff that can happen if your animations do not match your rig. Best practice make animations using the model you plan to use.

I see, thanks!
It worked fine when I used the mesh before I added the root joint, only problem I had was that the animation got flipped on it’s back without the root.
Do you have any idea how I can prevent it from flipping the animation without causing these other problems I’m having?

Thanks!

The flippy floppy part is an easy fix.

3ds 's default world space is “Z” up and UE4’s world space is “Y” up so to get the player model onto it’s feet you just need to set the world axis in FBX when exporting to “Y” up.

Adding a root bone will not correct for rotation, it’s a world space issue, but adding it is whats causing your second problem.