Trying To Create Armor + Health System for a Top Down Game

Hello,

I am currently working on a project with a small team (4 people) and my role is to work on the UI elements. I’m trying to create an Armor and Health system using progress bars (I’m still extremely new to developing with UE4) and have followed some tutorials but I can’t quite seem to get it to work so I’m reaching out here in the hopes that someone does. The idea behind it is to have the Armor bar deplete before the Health bar does, and with my current blueprint, the armor depletes but the health does note. My BluePrint is pictured here:

I have a current Health variable set to 100.0 and an Armor variable set to the same value and have it set up this way so that I can easily add more damage percentages (10% and 25% for example). I’m not 100% sure what I’m doing wrong, as my blueprint looks sound. I have also tested my Health variables by binding the F key to a function that reduces Health by 25% when pressed and it works as intended so I’m fairly certain it has something to do with this function.

I appreciate any time and effort gone into helping me understand how to fix my issue.

Hi Nuclear,

Looking at it, your Blueprint may be failing at a few points. One is the Condition.
The Branch is reading your code this way: If Armor is less than 0, execute True. However, will the value of Armor ever be less than 0? If you deplete armor by 5%, you’re going to end up going down to 0 and not subtracting any more values, so your Branch will never run because it needs to be LESS THAN 0, not at 0 (using =< or == 0 would work).
Though, with that said, there’s also the issue of the True execution.

Setting Armor to 0 at the end breaks your code because of the aforementioned Branch issue. Your code is never going to fire even if it reached True because once True executes, Armor is set to 0 and therefore the Branch will never be True again.