Trying something crazy - pixeldepth and blurring

Hi. Noob here.
I am trying to use two different features together.

One is:

The other is:
https://nerivec.github.io/old-ue4-wiki/pages/how-to-use-the-spiral-blur-material-node.html

I am trying to have the texture to blur based on the pixel distance from the camera. So the walls, floor, boulders, right close to the camera will be clear, but starting at just a meter away the texture begins to blur.

Using these two methods, at best, I was able to make the texture fade into transparent the further away it was from the camera. Was pretty neat that it would fade into existence as I moved forward, but it isn’t the effect I want. I need blur, not fade into.

Does anyone know how to implement?

Sounds like you want to use Depth Of Field, with the camera focused on a near point so everything far is blurry. Use the CineCamera, and look into tutorials on Depth Of Field, and you should be set.

Not exactly. I’ve been trying to use DoF but it hasn’t done what I am looking for it to do.

It isn’t as simple as everything far away is blurring. The blurriness needs to be distance based. As in things up close aren’t blurry, things a medium distance away are blurred a bit, things far are blurry, things far away are completely blurred. And to be able to fine tune it depending on the scene’s water content. As in dirtier water is blurrier, fresh water is clearer, etc.

kinda funny, just yesterday i ran up Dark Souls 3 and wondered this exact thing, on how they managed to get, what looks like, a stepped-depth-of-field for distant groups of objects…

Might take a whack. I’ll keep an eye on this thread and if I have any insight will share. I have some ideas but can’t dig into it now, later tonight possibly…

Thanks.

My ideal is to be able to use different convolution blooms (different kernels) based on depth. Like 0 to 1m away it gets one kernel, 1 to 4m away is another kernel, etc. But I haven’t been able to find a way to connect it.