True First Person Shooter Camera with 2D Aim Offset: Body Rotation & Weapon Position Issues

I’m relatively new to Unreal (been using Unity for years now) and am currently porting an FPS system prototype I did recently in Unity to Unreal in order to make an actual game out of it. Before porting those mechanics though I’ve wanted to properly set up a true first person camera that’s seen in games like Squad, ARMA, Ground Branch, and other realistic shooters. I’m essentially aiming to achieve something like this sample I came across when researching methods to implement this sort of system.

The (currently) desired features of my camera/character setup are as follows:

1. Use a single character mesh (for the time being until I become better at 3D modeling)
  2. Use aim offsets to realistically have the upper body rotate with movement while keeping the weapon centered. The same example from above is an example of what I mean; as the camera yaws, the shoulders move but the gun doesn’t
  3. Rotate the lower body/character smoothly when the maximum rotation of the aim offset is reached. The above example ^ illustrates this as well.
  4. Feature a bit of the ‘weapon sway/rotation lag’ that’s used to give guns weight in most FPS games when aiming around. Something like this.

To do this so far I’ve been using animations from the “HeroTPP” mesh that comes with the official ShooterGame sample. I have the camera socketed into the head of the mesh in the blueprint with “Use Pawn Control Rotation” enabled. I created a 9 directional aim offset using aim poses that came with the HeroTPP model and setup a basic anim graph for moving and using the aim offset as per the official Unreal documentation for making aim offsets. I’m also blending an idle animation with the locomotion state machine to keep the hands from bouncing everywhere while moving.