Today is a sad day. Today I returned to Unity.

I have been a Unity developer for several years, in the last year I started working with Unreal and it was like a dream. The results of my development were faster and better quality for my games, So why did I go back to Unity???
Requirement of my clients for web development, Export to webgl. The export to webgl does not exist at all in the new versions, and in the old versions the export is not high quality at all, a small scene in Unity will take up about 10MB compared to a similar scene in Unreal that will take up over 100MB. And for webgl it’s really important.
I did not write this just to cry :slight_smile: I also want to ask if there is a chance that you will return the support to webgl and improve it? I find a lot of people very frustrated by this especially that the technology of the browsers and internet speeds Improving all the time. I and many others will be happy for a positive answer. :rolleyes:

1 Like

Well, that’s the result of removing support for OpenGL older than OpenGL ES 3.2 in Unreal.
WebGL stopped at OpenGL ES 3.0 which doesn’t support modern features…

This means that Unreal’s renderer moves forward in the direction of high-fidelity rendering. I’m afraid there’s zero chance that WebGL would be back. Until… a new web rendering API would emerge, based on something like Vulcan. Although even that wouldn’t run on Mac, I guess. At least future versions of Unreal could work with something like that.

1 Like

While it certainly works better than the Unreal support for WebGL it’s still a pain to develop for in Unity as well.

i am in a similar boat, i am not developing for web, but I think build sizes in UE4 are generally on the heavier side unfortunately. I wish there would be more optimization done there, engine automatically excluding things that arent used etc. Unity was nice because of the small build sizes, so sharing around games and even projects was less heavy.