Tired of "engines"

Anyone else gotten tired of having to evaluate and use various “engines”? I mean I’m happy that they are available, but I’m getting kind of bored of having to relearn new things every time. It just so happens I kind of need to do it for my lecturing job, so its something I can justify to myself that way. Plus of course I love the possibilities each one brings (I can imagine games I’d make with Unreal that I couldn’t make in other engines right now). Still, it seems to me that its all too easy to see the engine as the main factor in making the game, when in reality it absolutely shouldn’t be.

On the upside, I’ve spent just over a week with Unreal and have had a fun time looking over the various art pipeline things which all seem to work (thankfully). At some point I guess I’ll delve deeper into the core engine code and look that over (I’m an AI programmer by background) but for now I’m just playing at the surface level looking at the kind of tasks my students might tackle.

I’m looking forward to seeing more than just uber-soldier games made with it though. Only so many sci-fi marines you can see in one lifetime before you get bored.

I’ve got an inventory/crafting/trading system to package up and sell on the Unity asset store, then I’ll have a look at some things for Unreal (including a port of the inventory stuff) before jumping into what I think will be an interesting project that literally would only work with Unreal’s pretty rendering :slight_smile:

Sorry, bit of a ramble, but I’ve been bitten by “engine-itus” before (many years ago now when Torque 3D was called V12) and wanted to remind myself and others to be a bit more circumspect about it all.