Tips on learning unreal engine/game development?

I have been using Ue4 for a couple of months now, but I feel like I’m not making any progress, I feel like I cant make anything on my own without the help of tutorials, I have a lot of ideas for small, simple games but I still have no idea how to make them on my own. Sometimes I cant even find tutorials for the thing I want to make and at those times I am completely stuck, does anyone have any tips that can help? Thanks<33

IMO:

1. Learn more math.
  2. Learn some C++.
  3. Practice problem solving.
  4. Keep at it… :expressionless:

Forums like here are also a good place for content and problem solving.

1 Like

Thanks

I would second this, the main thing is just keep at it. It will start to happen after a while. I reckon, I threw away much of what I made in the first year, even though I thought it was good at the time. Just keep going…

Ok Thank A lot <33

1 Like

Yes @Togonaaa ,

Remember your “why” and Keep Going!

1 Like

Thx

1 Like

I remember being there,. it all seemed like a giant wall for so long, then it started to happen that I started to see connections and predict solutions, it all started to make sense and now I finally feel like I could make anything with it.

Things that made a big difference for me.

Learning that the Input panel connects your Blueprints to real world Hardware with ‘hard’ Actions and Variable ‘axis’ Inputs

Learning that one can change the base pose of a Skeleton during Import by clicking the ‘Update Base Pose frame 0’ (something like tht) checkbox in FBX Import settings.