Tilemap Collision Jitter

Hey all,

I’m just getting started with Unreal and Paper2D and noticed this problem

I am using a tilemap for a 2D topdown level with collisions set for walls and floors and a paper2D character to walk around it.

I’m noticing some jitter in the rendered tilemap when the player walks around, and particularly when colliding and moving along a wall. I’m uploading a GIF of this below, and a couple images showing the tilemap collisions and the movement I have set on the character blueprint.

Has anyone come across this issue before?

unreal-collision-jitter

Try doubling the amount moved 1 to 2 and -1 to -2. I don’t use paper2d on account of it being terrible in every way shape and form because the devs don’t care about it, but I could at least try to help you with my limited knowledge

1 Like

Hi thanks for the suggestion

I managed to get some great advice and a fix for this from Daniel Clute (see upwork)

Paraphrasing (hopefully correctly) the distortion is due to sub-pixel movement of the character and the camera not aligning to the pixel grid. This was more evident when the character was moving slowly.

The fix that greatly reduces this effect was to remove the car-like slow acceleration and deceleration of the character. That’s achieved by setting the Max Acceleration and Ground Friction to very high values on the Character Movement Component (5000)

This doesn’t remove the distortion completely, but there’s a blog here by Ludicrous Games which goes into more advanced techniques for addressing this

fixed-movement

char-movement-fix

Interesting.