Thoughts on encapsulation, class structure and UE4

Hi everyone. So I’m still pretty new to unreal engine 4. After a few weeks I’m finding I really have to adapt my normal thinking process for software architecture when working in UE4 and I wanted to get some thoughts and opinions on everyone else’s thinking process. Keep in mind though that I am only an intermediate level C++ programmer with just a couple years experience. I’ll try and keep things simple by focusing on the ideas of encapsulation and the single responsibility principle when designing my overall game class structure.

Let’s take an example. Say I want to create a player character class in C++ so I go ahead and derive my C++ class from UE4’s Character class. I now have my PlayerCharacter with an inherited movement component class. But say I want to create my own custom movement logic for the character in C++. In UE4 fashion it’s usually best to inherit first from one of it’s base classes, in this case movement component, and then maybe attach it to your character via blueprints or something else (instead of manually changing the actual movement component C++ class inside UE4). If I do this though I now have extra duplicate code logic, two separate movement components, which is unnecessary.